Did you know that paying a traffic ticket fine is admitting your guilt and automatically convicts you of the charge against you? Paying a fine and pleading guilty to a traffic ticket can have many more consequences than just the fine amount. Most traffic tickets have points and as little as one conviction can send your insurance rates soaring. Not only can a conviction and points increase your insurance, but if you accumulate 11 points within an 18 month period, your license can be suspended! If a single offense is serious enough, traffic tickets can also have immediate license suspensions attached to them. And as if this weren’t enough, the DMV also has a yearly tax once you accumulate 6 or more points! Before you decide to pay a ticket, find out exactly what penalties you could be facing. (to learn more about the repercussions of points, visit our Demerit Point page)
A good portion of the time, tickets are given out to people who don’t even deserve them. Did you know, that when in training, police officers receive minimal training in traffic law? Many officers will give out tickets to people who don’t even deserve them and may not have even broken the law! Why would you pay a ticket and increase your insurance rates when you haven’t even done anything wrong? Tickets are meant to be given to people that are breaking the law and endangering others, but since police officers must learn a lot more than traffic law when in school, many innocent people get undeserving tickets every day.
Call our professional staff at Traffic Ticket Solutions for a free consultation and we can help you understand the charge that you have received and inform you of all the consequences of pleading guilty to your ticket. With all the fees, fines and taxes that you could be facing by paying your ticket, the only logical option is to fight it! We always fight for full dismissal with every case that is presented to us with the ultimate goal of fully eliminating it off of your record. We pride ourselves in our honest, upfront approach with our clients and don’t make false promises. We will let you know what our success rate is for tickets just like yours.
The State of Texas has one of the highest insurance rates in the country. Insurance companies have their own demerit point system that can drastically increase your insurance premiums with as little as one traffic ticket on your record! Every insurance company is different but the average your insurance premiums will raise is $100 per point for up to 5 years!
Keeping you Insured
Insurance companies notify the DMV electronically every time a client ensures a vehicle as well as when insurance coverage ends. This is also true when a client changes insurance companies or registers a replacement vehicle or if coverage is reinstated. If the insurance company does not properly notify the DMV electronically, your vehicle registration becomes suspended and your drivers’ license could also become suspended. This scenario is ideal for us to fight because of the strong defense that we are able to argue. The traffic court fine in Texas could be as much as $1500 for driving with no insurance or allowing another individual to drive your uninsured vehicle. You will have to pay the DMV an additional civil penalty of $750 to get your license back after revocation.
No insurance letters from the DM
If the DMV sends you an “insurance lapsed” letter it means that the insurance coverage has ended and that no other insurance company has notified the DMV about new insurance coverage. It’s important that you read the insert that came with the letter and follows the instructions carefully and quickly. Do not assume that your insurance company will take care of the problems.
If insurance coverage lapsed in the last 90 days, you may have the choice to pay a civil penalty instead of turning in your license plates to the DMV. This civil penalty option is not available if your insurance lapses as for more than 90 days or if you have used the civil penalty option for a registration suspension within the last 36 months.
Car Insurance Lapse Civil Penalty
- 1 – 30 days $8 per day
- 31 – 60 days $10 per day
- 61 – 90 days $12 per day
Example 1: If your insurance lapse is 25 days, you may pay a civil penalty of $200 ($8 per day for 25 days) and not turn in your plates, or you must surrender your plates and serve a registration suspension of 25 days.
Example 2: If your insurance lapse is 90 days, you may pay a total penalty of $900 ($8 per day for the first 30 days = $240; plus $10 per day for 31 days to 60 = $300; plus $12 per day for days 61-90 = $360) and not turn in your plates; or you must surrender your plates and serve a registration suspension of 90 days.